Monday, 28 January 2013

Writing

I had my first 'writing the short film' lecture today.

My lecture is quite cool actually, he's worked on a lot of things that you might have heard of like Stig of the dump, The Bill and Chuggington (total G right?).

Anyways, I'm learning about script writing and developing ideas for films. I'm thinking I might actually start writing scripts properly in addition to my short stories and the novel that i'm writing. Only thing is, what do I write about??? I'm sure something will come to me but this has become a bigger issue for me recently. I'm writing music for my solo demo as well as for the band (A Little Knowledge). I'm writing short stories, the novel and now scripts for films! It's all well and good but when I get an idea I can't just start writing, I have to think about what format it should be in, what would it work best for.

In light of this I want to tell you my process! Anyone out there who is writing or who wants to write (It can be quite daunting but once you go for it you'll be fine) can read this and hopefully find it helpful. Let me know what you do or if you're stuck with anything and I'll do my best to help out.

Writing for the sake of writing.

A lot of people, including myself, need a reason to write. We all find it hard to get inspiration at some point and if we don't have that then writing can become quite a chore. The thing is, you shouldn't think about the end product just yet, try to think of it this way. Instead of looking at other authors, trying to draw influences and ending up writing a similar thing to them, Inspire yourself!

Now I'm not saying that you shouldn't read or even try to write something entirely original. That will leave you in a worse place then you are now. What I mean is just write about absolutely anything, it could be a really rubbish story or really poorly written but it's your first draft and it will most likely change entirely. The point is to get past GO! and kickstart your brain into coming up with a decent narrative.

I recently wrote a short story called 'The Climb' that I will be entering into a few competitions (fingers crossed it'll do well) and it all started from a writing exercise. I took a random picture from a magazine and I wrote about how that picture came about, what was the story behind it? It ended up being about a girl who wanted to be a rock climber, but I went passed the point of the picture because the picture (a girl with rock climbing gear) didn't really make a great ending to what I had written. Try that exercise?

Just remember. Every single story in the world has a beginning, middle and end. Some people use 3 steps like this, some extend it to 6, 7, 8 or more. It is up to you how many twists and turns happen along the way but it needs at least three.

To get you writing try this.

Opening - The inciting incident! what is happening and who does it involve? i.e. A teenage boy going to a fire station for  work experience.

Confrontation - The character comes up against some kind of difficulty. This still comes under the 'beginning' really, you've established what's happening and who your protagonist is, now there has to be something they want. i.e. The alarm goes, the boy wants to go with and help the fire fighters, he is not allowed because of a lack of training and is told to stay put.

Knotting up the plot - What happens next? The plot needs to be pushed forward somehow, maybe the protagonist fights for what they want? Maybe they give up? It doesn't matter what they do as long as the plot is pushed on and they are moving closer to the 'crisis point'. i.e. The boy gives up at first as there are still people around the station to stop him following them, but he tricks them somehow and gets out. He goes to the location of the fire to help.

Raising the stakes -  No i'm not talking about throwing meat at the ceiling, I mean your character needs to somehow find themselves in a situation that they REALLY DO NOT want to be in. How do they get to that situation? Maybe a sudden courageous moment raises the stakes? Maybe another character puts themselves in danger? Some news reaches your character that they don't want to hear? i.e. Our young wannabe fire fighter turns up (staying out of sight), he overhears people saying that they won't be able to get anyone out. He sneaks into the building to help.

Crisis point - Now this is the situation that your character does not want to be in (the moment that i mentioned in 'raising the stakes'). How are they going to get out of this?  You need to put a lot of emphasis on how much of an issue they have here. Your character is absolutely screwed, not a single person can help him. Except YOU! You're the creator of their world, you are the deity that can grant them a miracle, or deny them it. You can have a friend pop up with just the thing they need or they can find it within themselves to overcome their obstacle, whatever relates to what you want your story express is good. i.e. I want readers to see that being strong headed and acting without thinking can lead to a terrible situation so our wannabe progresses through the house, jumping over burning debris, choking on the smoke and getting burned along the way. He reaches the people and tells them he can show them the way out. He turns to lead the way and falls through the floor.

Resolution - This is where our circle ends. Your protagonist has resolved their issue/ overcome their obstacle/ dealt with the drama. This is the point at which if you choose to do so you can send them on another adventure without the one you just wrote getting all tangled in your new plot. i.e. our wannabe wakes up in hospital, his mother is sitting next to him crying. She holds him close, starts swearing at him and crying even more. He feels guilty for what he has done and we know that he'll never be such a prat again! A fireman  (the one who told him to stay put) walks in and tells him he's lucky to be alive, he tells him the people got out safe through the window). Mr wannabe asks how, he heard the fireman say there was no way that they could get out he thought they had given up on the people in the house. The fireman explains that it appeared that they couldn't get out so the firemen cut through the window frame. He commends the boy for his bravery and tells him he'd make a good firefighter one day if he took his time to learn what he needs to.

Everyone is happy! Or maybe not.... someones home burned down... but the story isn't about them. DO NOT try to resolve everyone's problems, the reader won't want to hear how they got the insurance to pay out for their home and how they got their happy ending too. Stick to the main characters.

Anywho, enjoy the writing everyone! Feel free to share it, I do love to read new things.

Peace.
:)

Wednesday, 23 January 2013

The Phantom Pain - Metal Gear Solid 5?



Okay so first, some background for anyone who hasn't heard of The Phantom Pain at all. The Game was announced along with a trailer at the spike VGA's on the 7th of December 2012 by a Swedish developer known as Moby Dick Studios.  A lot of speculation has been made however that this game is in fact Metal Gear Solid 5 (which would be great! personally I never went in for the metal gear titles that were outside of the main saga). Anyway, people are saying that The phantom pain is MGS5, and that Moby Dick is a fake studio. Is Hideo Kojima playing tricks?

You'll need to watch the trailer to follow what i'm going to be saying as I look into the hints that suggest that finally MGS5 is on it's way. Just click the link below.

The Trailer!

Looks good right? If a little odd, and i'm sure many MGS fans can spot a few links already but let me break it down for you. The one you just watched is the 'alternative version' which is the same visuals but with a different soundtrack.

"We hope this new version will provide you with a new perspective" - Moby Dick Studios.
Well to me it makes the game seem a lot more survival horror than anything else but we'll soon see.

Moby Dick Studios

This unknown Swedish studio that supposedly developed the game has literally come out of thin air, leaving many people questioning if it is a real company. The companies website was created three days before the game was announced and the trailer was shown at the Spike VGA's. In addition to this the studios head is Joakim Mogren.  The first name is an anagram of Kojima. Coincidence? I think not. Finally, several members of the Moby Dick staff were reportedly seen in the Konami VIP area at the VGA's.

The odds are stacking up against this Swedish development team.

The Title

One of the most blatant clues as to this being a MGS game is this, if you take the font used at the end and type out 'Metal gear solid V' it fits perfectly into the missing gaps in the letters and with the extra lines that can be seen.


Now I'm as skeptical about this as anyone, but that's a hell of a coincidence! Some people are saying that it's Metal Gear Solid Vita not 'V' but the Moby Dick website states that the game is for PS3 and Xbox360 so it seems unlikely.

Twitter

Two cases have sprung up with twitter.

The first and more significant of the two is Hideo kojima's tweets about some motion capture work that he was doing in June 2012.

These tweets include...


In addition to this car crash and the hospital bed mo-caps Kojima tweeted about Wire work, Surgery and combat training for actors.

The second thing from the world of twitter was David Hayter replying to a question he was asked.

“@aganej2: @DavidBHayter so what was your take on The Phantom Pain trailer?” It made my arm hurt."

I doubt i'm the only person that thinks David Hayter is hinting at something here...


Clues in the Trailer

The trailer is full of little (and big) things that are reminiscent of previous MGS games, now maybe Moby Dick are heavily inspired by the work of Konami and Kojima. My guess: Konami want to build as much hype as they can.

FLOWERS


.
When our protagonist wakes up he reaches up to try and catch some petals floating above him. Familiar aren't they? That's because if you played MGS3 you saw them EVERYWHERE when you fight The Boss, they're a bitch too since they help her camo.



PSYCHO MANTIS?


There is speculation that the figure in the lift and the one that floats above the ground at the end of the trailer is Psycho Mantis. Admittedly, He/She does float in a very Mantis way. On the other hand we've had other characters like him so maybe it isn't? I get the impression that the figure is about to save 'snake' so that could be interesting to see if it is Mantis.  




VOLGIN

Hey there crazy electric guy! except.. err.. on fire this time...
If this isn't a hallucination of Volgin (MGS3) then what is?

You can telll by his suit, the patter and the colour of it


OTHER

Well where to start? well, as the saying goes, before we walk we must crawl; just like our protagonist! Notice how he moves forwards, it seems to be a lot like how snake does. This guy is in pain clearly, remember when snake was hurting the most? One word. Microwave. When our protagonist knocks over the table in the hospital ward, he crawls exactly like snake in the microwave tunnel. 

The Nurse in the background is wearing clothes VERY similar to the clothes that were used when Kojima productions previewed the FOX engine. I mean everyone likes a nurse but the exact same nurse?

Big Boss lost limbs in the Outer Haven battle, so for anyone who's thinking "but the guys is missing an arm how can it be snake?" There is your answer! Another theory is that he is in a dream, or that he is hallucinating   which would explain why we see a huge flaming whale.

The guy on fire standing in the hallway looks familiar too. That's because it's snake! well possibly, but this is all speculative... right? The pose is practically identical to the game cover for Metal Gear Solid: Ground Zeroes, People have even pointed out that he is wearing the sneaking suit from portable ops. Snake? maybe but then again it could be another vision of Volgin. Short sleeves, the pattern on the legs even. Maybe not, but it's a possibility.

WHAT DOES THIS MEAN FOR MANKIND?

Well. Good question.
The Tagline for Ground Zeroes is "From Fox two phantoms were born" and the image is often seen mirrored so that the text is backwards. This Could mean many things really.

Snake and the 'bad guy' from Ground Zeroes? Maybe, they are both shown to be part of (or at least once were part of) in the Ground zeroes trailer. That trailer certainly makes it seem that way. The 'bad guy' or as I call him 'Gnarly face' seems to have burns scars covering his face, maybe he is the other man in the Phantom Pain trailer?

Two games using the Fox engine. It is possible that these two games will be the first to use the new mulit-platforming engine created by Kojima productions. This is EXCITING news by the way, I'll be talking about it soon but if you can't wait then look it up.

Solid and Liquid? Now this is a long shot but it is possible that these two games somehow connect with 'Les enfants Terribles' and the cloning of big boss. (Yeah I don't have anything else on this, just an idea).

I think this definitely means that the two games are connected though; I mean the use of the word phantom in the tagline, they both seem to use the fox engine and all of the things that suggest this is metal gear, are we in for a two part game? or two interlinked but entirely separate games? Whatever it is, it looks like it'll be worth the wait.

So what do you think? are we looking at MGS5? let me know your thoughts!